I love working in a bookstore.  It’s my passion, my calling, and I have access to a lot of books n things before the general public so I often get bragging rights over my friends because I’ve read it/bought it first.

However, there are times that make me wonder if I need to worry.  I have a HUGE pile of books just waiting for me to read.  As of today there are 180 books there.  I counted.  Twice.  I bought three last night, and ordered two more!  There are books in this pile that have not seen the light of day in over two years.  Ironically the same amount of time I’ve been working in the bookstore….

Point being! I have all these books sitting and waiting for me, whispering to me in my sleep “Read usssss…….reeeeeaaad uuuuuuuuusssssss………”  But then the pile itself growls “Feeeeed  Meeeeeeeeeee!”  And then you have the little kid in me that goes “Oh!!! Pretty!” Whenever a new book comes out that I ‘must’ have.  I am at constant war with myself, my pile, and my wallet.  Poor thing had to be resuscitated last night…

Ok granted there are worse addictions/obsession I could have, but when your friends compare your relationship with books to a crazy assed power hungry mad Greek king’s love for a woman, (And I quote: You have a slight obsession with books the way Agamemnon had a slight obsession with Helen of Troy“.) it’s enough to make you stop and think “Oh.”

So I make this vow to you here and now folks!  Consider it my New Year’s Resolution, albeit a bit late.  I will not stop buying books.  Seriously.  I’ll cut off my right arm first….  No!  What I will do instead is since most of the books I read are series based, starting Feburary 1st 2011, I will only purchase those new books that come out in the series that I have already started, no matter how pretty any other book may be for either one year or until I read half that pile.  Whichever comes first.

There!  I’ve said it!  No more massive book buying sprees for me!  My sanity will thank me, my wallet will thank me, my boyfriend will hopefully stop being afraid of the pile so he’ll thank me too, my work will weep because my store will be losing a large source of income, but so be it!  I am resolute!  I am strong!  I am fearless!

. . .

. . .

. . . I am totally going to crack next payday. . .

Save

