lego-harry-potter-years-1-4_boxshot_x360_2d_fSo in my world of gaming, I upgraded my 360 arcade to the newest 360 elite.  Is black, sleek, and pretty. 😀  And I have gotten way into that Lego franchise.

I currently own Lego Harry Potter 1-4, and 5-7, Lego Indiana Jones, Lego Batman, and Lego Star Wars the complete Saga.  I’m missing Lego Pirates of the Carribean, Lego Star Wars Clone Wars, and Lego Indiana Jones 2.

While not designed with any “real” challenges or goals as you would find in most RPGs and RTS games, the Lego franchise is a fun, easy way to pass the time if you need a break from that kind of thing.

In each game, you play mostly as the main character, and each “level” is based on one movie, with each movie subdivided into six sections where you have certain goals to achieve, mostly with collecting items.  Once all levels are cleared, and all items collected, you get a 100% rating and the game is complete!  Hooray!

Yeah I know.  Simple, grinding, sometimes boring, but damn is it fun!  Lego Harry Potter 1-4 was the first Lego game I played to completion because it was so damned fun and addictive!  You run around as Harry Potter, blowing stuff up with different spells, collecting coins to purchase fun extras to use in the game.

So far Lego Harry Potter is my favorite of the Lego franchise, mostly because of the different spells and effects you get. You can levitate, illuminate, blow stuff up, and so on.  Pretty much every spell you learn in the first four movies you of course learn in the game.

I’m not to fond of Lego Batman, it’s been a while since I played it but it just doesn’t seem to capture my interest.  I think because I need to consult an online walkthrough every five seconds to figure out what I’m supposed to do next.  Never had to do that with the other Lego games.

Lego Star Wars the Complete Saga is the game I’m playing right now, and the hardest I’ve had to play so far, but come on.  Who doesn’t want to be a Jedi?  Especially once you unlock Yoda. 😀

And Lego Indiana Jones falls in the middle of the spectrum.  It’s fun because you get to play as Indiana Jones, complete with whip action, and it’s got a good balance with the puzzle difficulty.

Next on the docket, Dragon Age 2, at last!

 

Save

