Happy New Year one and all!  I wish you all a safe and prosperous 2012!

So today I start Ja No Read Mo, where for the month of January, I am spending 99% of my spare time reading.  And for those who don’t know, this is why:

At last count I had about 200 or so books, and these are just the books I haven’t read yet, never mind the three bookcases that I have read.

But I figured it was time to buckle down and try to take a wee bite out of this thing, so here we are.  As I said before I aim to read at least 10 books, which is my previous record, but I hope I can beat that by at least 1.

The first book I’ve chosen from this monstrosity is admittedly a quick read for me.  It’s a romance book (don’t judge me….) by Addison Fox called Warrior Ascended.  It’s the first in a new series I’m trying.  I don’t read romance often, it’s my guilty pleasure treat of literature, but it’s been so long since I read a romance I decided to start here.

So the premise here is that the Goddess of Justice Themis decided to create a race of warriors and imbue them with the powers of the Zodiac signs to help protect humanity.  In the first installment here, the Leo warrior Brody Talbot is all set to fight the Goddess of War to keep her from using an ancient Egyptian supernatural doomsday device.  And young Ava Harrison, an Egyptologist who works at a museum where I am assuming the device is on display, is of course caught in the cross fire and most likely will have to decide whether or not to trust Brody with her heart and her life.

Looks like Miss Fox is combining mythology with astrology, two things I have an interest in so I’m hoping this turns out well.  That fortunately is the thing I look for when I read a book, no matter the genre.  I don’t care about syntax, prose, or whatever.  I never look for the next literary masterpiece.  All I want is a good story that will take me to a new world so long as I hold it in my hands.

So lets get started shall we? Welcome once again everyone to Ja No Read Mo.  I hope you enjoy it.  I know I certainly will. 😉

Save

