So I started “The Writer’s Devotional, 365 Inspirational Exercises, Ideas, Tips and Motivations on Writing”, by Amy Peters a little while ago, and so far I’m really liking it.  Day 1 touched briefly on writers providing a voice for those unable to speak, and day 2 was all about motivation, specifically talking about how the reader should set down personal goals for themselves for their writing and work to achieve them.  I decided to take that a step further and decide why I write to begin with.

Now some people write for a set reason: to educate, to entertain, to voice their opinion, to make money or just because they like to hear themselves talk.  They also have one style or type of writing, there are authors, critics, journalists, biographers, and bloggers like myself.

So what have I written about?  I’ve written original stories featuring my own characters or borrowing someone else’s.  I’ve told stories from first and second hand experiences, as well as rants about what frustrates me, ideas that come to me at random times, and reviews on anything I’ve gotten my grubby little hands on in terms of television, books, and movies.  So in short I write a little bit of almost everything.

Am I trying to accomplish something here, or reach a particular audience?  No.  Am I doing this because it’s the ‘in’ thing to do?  God I hope not.  So why did I start this blog?  I guess the only thing that satisfactorily answers that question is the fact that I enjoy it.

I don’t write for money, for people, or for anyone but myself.  I don’t write for anyone or for any reason other than I want to.  I want to write.  I like it.  I enjoy putting on my music of the day, sitting in front of my computer in my kitchen and letting my fingers fly across the keyboard for an hour or two, my thoughts flowing from my brain to the screen like a river in spring or a stream in winter, depending on my day and what I’m writing.

That’s a large part of why I started this blog.  To give myself a reason to write and an outlet for yet another form of my creativity.  Do I want people to read this?  Yes, I do.  Do I want people to enjoy it?  Of course.  I hope at least one person like everything I write.  But at the end of the day, I’m the rhyme and reason to my writing, so even if no one like it or reads it, I’m not going to stop until I want to.

I know why I write.  Do you?

