12988106You’d think one day I’d learn.  I don’t like teen books.  I don’t like kids books.  Something about them just does not click with my reading style.  I think it’s because I feel they’re too easy for me.

So you’d think I’d learn that just because I love this author, doesn’t mean I’m going to love it when they branch out of their genre.

Granted there are several big name contemporary adult fiction authors who have made the transition from adult to child/teen and seem to be doing quite well for themselves.  So when I saw that Philippa Gregory had deviated from her usual historical fiction books of the various stages of the British monarchy, I figured I’d give it a shot.  I may not love it, but I should at least enjoy it.

*BZZZT!* Wrong.

So Changeling is the first book in the Order of Darkness series that Philippa Gregory has started.  At first glance, it’s a good concept.  Set in Spain during the time of the Spanish Inquisition, a young orphan boy, raised by monks, who is naturally gifted is drafted into a secret society bent on protecting the world from the powers of Satan and his minions.  His first task is to travel to a convent where the ladies have been experiencing signs of stigmata and other various religious lunacy and ferret out the source of the problem.

Accompanied by his smart mouthed side kick and world weary mentor, the young lad sets forth to shed God’s light upon this cursed nunnery and peel away the mystic veils in the process.

And of course the Abbess of the nunnery is drop dead gorgeous, so we can guess where that leads.

“Lead us not into temptation…”

So the first task, heal the nunnery, is actually completed about halfway through the book, and honestly it was an intriguing story.  Poison, lust, betrayal, murder and greed.  What could be better?

But after they fixed everything up and moved on, they literally moved on to another task that just kinda landed in their laps.  First they’ve got a fixed destination in mind, then they’re side tracked by a ‘werewolf’ that only turns out to be a boy who’s been lost in the woods for several years.

Really, the book should have ended after the first story arc.  Tacking that second one on there just made it seem long and drawn out.  The concepts were fantastic, the stories were intriguing, but it didn’t make sense to have them both in the same book.

So needless to say, this was not what I was expecting.  Will I continue on with the series?  I honestly don’t know.  We’ll have to wait and see to find out.

Next up: The Player by J.R. Ward

11801937Ruthless might as well be Gray Bennett’s middle name. When the renowned Washington, D.C., insider talks, powerful people listen. But Gray hasn’t come home to Saranac Lake to play politics. Or play at all. A tragedy has shaken the unshakable Gray Bennett to his hardened core.

And so has the most unlikely of women.

The mousy redhead who used to run around the Moorehouse B and B-the one he never noticed-is now all fiery hair and lush curves. But sweet Joy Moorehouse is too innocent for a cynic like him. So Gray won’t let himself lay a hand on her…until the night he can no longer resist the woman she has become. That’s when he discovers a secret that leaves him gasping for breath-and wanting more.

Save

