6453332So one more notch in my reading belt for the month!  With only three more books to go, I really think I’ll be able to make 10 books this month.

Now weather or not I’ll be able to beat that next year is something to ponder on…

A part of me actually regrets making this one part of my Ja No Read Mo.  My own fault really, Love You to Death by Shannon K. Butcher is contemporary romantic suspense, and I don’t do contemporary or suspense very well.  But I like her paranormal Sentinel Wars and her contemporary Delta Force series well enough, so I figured I’d give one of her earlier one shots a try.

Its also surprising that I didn’t like this book all that much.  It’s about a woman named Elise McBride who goes searching for her missing sister who was kidnapped by a serial killer.  With the help of missing sister’s sexy ex-cop neighbor, our heroine rips around town on a mission to find the last member of her family that she has left, and in the process becomes the killer’s next target.

See?  I found that interesting enough to read it, but not interesting enough to hold my attention.  At least not until the end with the usual good triumphing over evil scene.  I think the problem is that I’m too much of an escapist reader.  I like stuff that takes me away to a different place and time, or is what can be considered an alternate or hidden version of our current reality.

This was just too real and common place for me.  You hear about serial killers and the horrible things they do all the time in the news, more so if you watch that show Criminal Minds (of which I do), and it was basically a novelized version of that.  I dunno.  I just tried something new and different and didn’t like it is all.  It was a good book, I can at least detach myself enough to admit that it was a good story and rather enjoyable, it just wasn’t for me.

Ah well.  Onward and upwards shall we?  Book number eight looks like it’s going to be Child of Vengeance by David Kirk.  Unless I get distracted by some other shiny thing.

15778328Japan in the late 16th century was a land in turmoil. Lords of the great clans schemed against each other, served by aristocratic samurai bound to them by a rigid code of honor. Bennosuke is a high-born but lonely teenager living in his ancestral village. His mother died when he was a young boy, and his powerful warrior father Munisai has abandoned him for a life of service to his Lord, Shinmei. Bennosuke has been raised by his uncle Dorinbo, a Buddhist monk who urges the boy to forgo the violence of the samurai and embrace the contemplative life. But Bennosuke worships his absent father, and when Munisai returns, gravely injured, Bennosuke is forced to confront truths about his family’s history and his own place in it. These revelations soon guide him down the samurai’s path—awash with blood, bravery, and vengeance. His journey will culminate in the epochal battle of Sekigahara—in which Bennosuke will first proclaim his name as Mushashi Miyamoto. This rich and absorbing epic explores the complexities of one young man’s quest while capturing a crucial turning point in Japanese history with visceral mastery, sharp psychological insight and tremendous narrative momentum

Save

