So I know it’s a little late in the game, but the family just got this on the newfangled blue ray player they have, and after watching it for a second and third time in a week, I feel it only proper that it makes an appearance here.

When I first heard that they were making a Hobbit movie, I was really excited.  I enjoyed the book as a kid, and I thought it would be a fun and interesting thing to bring to the big screen.

When I heard the first whispers that they were splitting it into two movies, I wasn’t too upset by that, as from what I remembered from the book, two movies would have done it justice.

But when I heard about the trilogy, I had reservations and was starting to think that the split was purely for monetary and not artistic reasons.

So far, I stand corrected.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey was done really well.  They’ve framed the whole trilogy to be a narration within a narration.  An Unexpected Journey begins at the start of Lord of the Ring: Fellowship of the Ring. We’re in the Shire on the day of Bilbo‘s party where he dissapears and leaves the ring of power behind for Frodo, setting into motion the events of the Lord of the Rings trilogy.  And Bilbo is actually finishin up his book that Frodo eventually gets, and that’s the framework for the Hobbit trilogy.  The whole thing is basically Bilbo reliving his adventures as he writes the book that he evnetually gives to Frodo.  I thought that was rather nifty.

The thirteen dwarves featured are also well done.  There are some familiar faces under those bushy beards, and each dwarf is set apart by at least one characteristic: one is old, one is bald, one is rounder than a billiard ball, one is mostly deaf, one barely speaks common, one has a funny hat, and so on and so forth.  So even if you can’t remember the names (which all rhyme by the way) point out that one thing about the dwarf, and people know who you are talking about.

And with the story point that they chose to end the first movie on, I think three movies would be alright.  I don’t think it will be too drawn out or overdone, but in the end only time will prove me right or wrong.

The only thing I can say that I didn’t like about the movie is that it wasn’t as fast paced as I was expecting, and I’m a little dissapointed they didn’t put in more of that song Far Over The Misty Mountains that the dwarves sing a little bit as the adventure gets underway.  It’s a really good song and I think what they did of it was fabulous so I was dissapointed they didn’t do more.  I think it would have been pretty cool.

All in all, even if you’re not a Tolkien or Lord of the Rings fan, I think the Hobbit is worth seeing as it can be seen and taken on it’s own merits.  I’ve been hearing a lot of people saying it wasn’t good because it wasn’t as grand or epic as Lord of the Rings, and I admit that it’s not.  The Hobbit is it’s own movie, it’s own story that only ties into the Lord of the Rings at the end, and should be judged as such.

Enjoy folks.

Save

