13259855So like most other gamers, I began my lifetime obsession in the 90s with Diablo and Diablo II respectively. So when they at long last announced Diablo III after almost ten years of nothing, I -along with many other gamers I’m sure- rejoiced. Too bad the game sucked beyond measure.

But that’s another tale for another time.

So instead of saying my lust with a game, I opted for the book.

At least this one wasn’t a disappointment.

Diablo III: The Order by Nate Kenyon follows the adventures of Deckard Cain, last of the Horadrim, as he recovers from events that I am assuming happen at the end of either the second or third game, attempting to take out a dark sorcerer working for the Lord of Lies and taking a stab at the one thing that all dark sorcerers who have come before him have tried: open a portal to hell.

The only difference this time is…ok there is no difference really. The life of a young girl with mystic powers hangs in the balance, a young girl who is also Cain’s salvation from his own personal hell.

I really liked this book mostly because I got chills reading it as the author described all the horrors of hell. Not often that a book can give me the heebie jeebies, but this one did on several occasions.  I think it would be fitting of any fan of the Diablo franchise.  Well…any fan of the first two at least…

Moving right along, we’re visiting my favorite cross media series. Supernatural: Fresh Meat by Alice Henderson is up next.

13572885A rash of strange deaths in the Tahoe National Forest bring Sam, Dean and Bobby to the Sierra Nevada mountains to hunt a monster with a taste for human flesh. Soon walking corpses, bodies with missing organs, and attacks by a mysterious flying creature lead the trio to a cunning and deadly foe which can assume a human form and will do anything to survive. When a blizzard strikes the area, and not knowing who they can trust, they must battle not only the monster, but also the elements to survive.

Save

