49388Oh sweet merciful gods in heaven I am SO glad this is going the way I want it.

The Vacant Throne is the second installment of the Band of Four series by the creator of my beloved Forgotten Realms, Ed Greenwood.

The first book, Kingless Lad, introduced us to the intrepid group of rag tag adventurers as they unwittingly awoke a sleeping legend and the fabled king of their land.

The Vacant Throne continues that tale, answering the questions ‘what comes after?’

The Band had been charged with some obvious and not so obvious tasks by their newly Risen King: find some mad powerful stones, and take out any in your way.  All in an attempt to save their fair land.  And so the sorceress, the warrior, the theif and the healer and running cross hill and dale trying to fulfill the wishes of their king, while keeping their hides intact in the process battling barons, mages, twisted monsters and the normal course of bandits, brigands and natural menaces.

Meanwhile their king gets to deal with back stabbing barons, assassination attempts, coups, secret plots, and surprisingly enough: depression.

I guess even immortal, mythological beings can still feel blue sometimes…

I don’t know what it was between Kingless Land and Vacant Throne, but I seemed to like the second one better.  I remember the first one was really hard reading, it was a struggle to get through it for me.  But the second one here I went through like a hot knife through butter.  It was funny, engaging, and I was genuinely interested in seeing how it ended rather than just reading it to be finished with the book.  I think my issues with the first one was the multiple story lines between inconsistent characters.  You would always follow the Band of Four, but you could be with them one day, follow three different characters, come back to the Band a week later, and follow another set of three characters completely different from before that we’ve never seen before, before coming back once again to the Band a day after we last saw them.

Yeah, figure that out.

And while that is still the case in Vacant Throne, I think I knew what was coming and was able to enjoy the story because or in spite of that.  Either way, the Vacant Throne was an easier and more enjoyable read than the Kingless Land.

I’m really interested to see how the next one, A Dragon’s Ascension goes because after all that fighting to get the Risen King on the throne, all of a sudden there is no more Risen King.  I understand the why behind it to a point, but I’m also more interested to see where the Band goes next now after all that seemingly wasted effort.

Next up: the long awaited Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss.

1215032“There are three things all wise men fear: the sea in a storm, a night with no moon, and the anger of a gentle man.”

My name is Kvothe.

I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in.I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep.

You may have heard of me.

So begins the tale of a hero told from his own point of view–a story unequaled in fantasy literature. Now in THE WISE MAN’S FEAR, Day Two of the Kingkiller Chronicle, an escalating rivalry with a powerful member of the nobility forces Kvothe to leave the University and seek his fortune abroad. Adrift, penniless, and alone, he travels to Vintas, where he quickly becomes entangled in the politics of courtly society. While attempting to curry favor with a powerful noble, Kvothe uncovers an assassination attempt, comes into conflict with a rival arcanist, and leads a group of mercenaries into the wild, in an attempt to solve the mystery of who (or what) is waylaying travelers on the King’s Road.

All the while, Kvothe searches for answers, attempting to uncover the truth about the mysterious Amyr, the Chandrian, and the death of his parents. Along the way, Kvothe is put on trial by the legendary Adem mercenaries, is forced to reclaim the honor of the Edema Ruh, and travels into the FAe realm. There he meets Felurian, the faerie woman no man can resist, and who no man has ever survived…until Kvothe.

In THE WISE MAN’SFEAR, Kvothe takes his first steps on the path of the hero and learns how difficult life can be when a man becomes a legend in his own time.

Save

