6459561In every literal sense of the word.

Here we have the second of the Iron Elves trilogy, Light of Burning Shadows.  The first one, Darkness Forged in Fire, was a bit difficult to read, but I think that’s mostly because I got a copy that was missing like 20 pages.  So I tried to read ahead, got confused, put it aside until I had a compete copy, lost the thread of the story and struggled from there.

So I was hesitant to start this one as while I suspected the stopping and starting was the key to my issues with the first one, I wasn’t sure and therefore wasn’t eager to find out.

But Light of Burning Shadows was really good.

Here you have an evil elf witch on a mountain who’s goal is to take over the world and rule it in darkness.  Pretty typical yes?  What isn’t so typical, is in the army of the empire attempting to destroy her is a contingent of elves (mostly. There are a few humans and dwarves sprinkled in there too) who have sworn themselves to her ‘service’ in order to gain a little bit of the power she grants her children in order to stop here.

Talk about using any means necessary.

So the original company were all elves and they called themselves the Iron Elves.  Politics got in the way in the first book and the entire company was shamed, exiled, and took refuge in a desert.  The new Iron Elves of mixed races are now searching out the original company while trying to avoid the elf witch, her emissary, her living forest of trees thirsty for blood, and now in the forest they have to fight the powers of a draco-lich and her children.  And if the Iron Elves get touched by the draco-lich magic, the two magics war inside the being and burn the person’s shadow, thus consuming the soul.

I know I know, sounds complicated.  But it’s really not once you get into it.  I actually was able to get through Light of Burning Shadows quite swiftly and I really enjoyed it.  I’ll be starting the third one, Ashes of a Black Frost relatively soon and I’m looking forward to it.

The only downside to this is that I think my favorite character dies.  Hopefully I’ll find out I’m wrong come book 3.

Up next, the third and most recent installment of the series based on my fav rpg game, Dragon Age Asunder.

11738736A mystical killer stalks the halls of the White Spire, the heart of templar power in the mighty Orlesian Empire. To prove his innocence, Rhys reluctantly embarks on a journey into the western wastelands that will not only reveal much more than he bargained for but change the fate of his fellow mages forever.

Save

