10357792I think this might be the end of Cat and Bones, for real.  I began the Nighthuntress series a while back and loved every minute of it. So if I’m right, I’m sad to see it end. But it’s a bittersweet sadness, for the series could not have ended any other way.

This was a little hard for me to read, partly because of the romantic changes in my life and partly because of one of the issues that is addressed within these pages has always been difficult for me.

I don’t want to give too much away this time, but Up From the Grave is all about tying Cat’s past to her future.  Secret government agents, super soldier experimentation, shadow backers, demons, ghosts, ghouls, a showdown with the Voodoo Queen of New Orleans, and in the middle of it all a not-so-innocent little girl with plenty of secrets to hide.

The entire premise of the book was fascinating, so while it was difficult to read at points, it was also equally difficult to put down which was rather weird.  In the end it was worth sticking through the tough parts, but the ending had such a tone of finality I’m not sure what’s going to happen next.

Okay, enough of the warm squishies. Back to doom and gloom. Trying to crack out the last of the Watercourse trilogy by Philip Athens, Scream of Stone next.

285255When the true mission of the Thayan Enclave is revealed, the richest man in Innarlith decides he wants to be the most powerful too, a once promising young man is transformed into a twisted undead assassin, and a quiet genius finally makes his stand, the explosive fury of decades of boiling rage explodes from the heart of a city at war with itself.

Save

