7260188Wow.  That’s all I could really say once I finished Mockingjay.  Such a powerful ending to the series, I would have to say its the best of all three.

I do admit though I was sooo pissed off at the start of this book.  The rebels bitch about Katniss finally believing they’re all on the same side after they lied to her, kept her in the dark about their plans, and kept her drugged to control her pain and moods.  I’m sorry, I’ve had trust issues too if you caused the capture and possible death of someone I cared about then kept me stoned outta my mind to control me and keep me pliable.

Call me crazy, but that’s not exactly trust inspiring behavior there….

And the manipulation never ended!  All through the book poor Katniss didn’t know up from down, friend from foe for how they were treating her, trying to make her fit into their mold.

The ending I had mixed feelings about.  On the one hand I wish she hadn’t made the choice between Peeta and Gale.  Christ the two of them fought over her like dogs over a bone.  I would have left them both behind.

But I like how it eventually turned out.  Despite the 2.5 kids thing going on there.  It’s not a happily ever after by any means, with her night terrors and his odd moments where he risks a mental breakdown and going homicidal.

Do I wish I had gotten on the Hunger Games bandwagon when it started rolling? Not really.  At least this way I was able to enjoy it without all the hype that would have built it up so much I would have been disappointing.

Next up, last but not least in the Shadows of the Avatar trilogy: All Shadows Fled

291691The Shadow Spreads

The Time of Troubles had almost passed. The chaos of spilled blood, lawless strife, monsters unleashed, and avatars roaming Faerun was reaching an end.

However, not so Those Who Walk in Shadow.

The dreaded and insidious Shadowmasters realize that they have one last chance to seize control while chaos wrecks havoc on all of the Realms, and in doing so seal the fate of not just their archenemy Elminster, but all of Mystra’s minions as well.

Darkness threatens to envelop all Faerun.

“The shadows loom.”

