18108281Not what I was expecting when I first picked it up.  Since that other group, the Band of Bastards showed up in the series, vying for the throne, I figured this would be like the story of their leader Xcor setting himself up as king somewhere in Caldwell and finally making the move to overthrow Wrath.

Well…one of those things happened at least.

But by no means was I disappointed.  The King is all about Beth and Wrath and how they’ve been drifting apart, and how they work to keep their marriage and family together.

Not a whole lot about the Bastards in this one, instead the secondary story is all about our lady thief unknowingly working -and falling in love with- vampire mob bosses.

Little bit of Trez and iAm as well, but not as much as I was hoping for.  For some reason I am really drawn to these brothers and I’m crossing my fingers that the next one makes up for that dearth here in The King.

The ending really threw me for a loop though.  It was not what I was expecting but it was so heart wrenching and moving.  I think I liked this book, but the ending made me love it.

Back to the Realms!  Another anthology (can you sense a theme here?) Realms of the Underdark next.

291547The Underdark


Beneath the surface of Faerun lies a whole different world.

A world of drow, deep gnomes, and other denizens of the dark.

A world of cities like Menzoberranzan and Skullport, of warriors and rogues like Drizzt Do’Urden and Liriel Baenre and numerous others.

Leave the security of the surface world and seek out the darkness that lies below.

Welcome to the Realms of the Underdark.

