239067I’m not sure if I made this an official announcement this year, but I challenged myself on Goodreads to read 100 books this year, and I duddits!

BOO YEAH BABY!

It was hard at the end, I had to cheat a wee bit and pick books that I knew I would be able to get through easily, I read online at work, but it all worked out in the end.  I’m ending 2014 and my reading streak with Dragonslayer’s Return, last book in the Spearwielder’s Tale by R.A. Salvatore.

Gary Ledger returns once more to the land of Faerie.  Three years have passed for him this time, and Gary is attempting to come to terms with the loss of his father, and has an overwhelming desire to return to Faerie.  So he takes his wife on a whirlwind tour of England, Scotland, and I think even Ireland in an attempt to find one of the few remaining bridges between the worlds and call to his friends to bring him through.

Needles to say, his plan works and he even manages to take his wife along with him.  Of course it’s a bit of a shock for her,m even after hearing Gary’s stories of Faerie, but after an adjustment period and a brief stint as an offended feminist when she was asked to stay back from a battle because she did not know how to wield the weapons she needed to defend herself, Diane fell in love with the land that calls her husband hero.

Gary and Diane are brought through not just because Gary called, but because the land is embroiled in civil war.  Humans against all the other races, with elves of Tir Na n’Og at the top of the list.  And with the witch Ceridwen due to be freed from her prison any day, the couple, along with Gary’s old friends Mickey, Kelsey, and Geno, race against the clock to find the rightful king, free him, and end the witch’s threat.  Hopefully forever.

Not on par with the first two I must admit.  It was a very slow start for me, took me forever to read just the first five chapters.  But after that it picked up pretty well and while it didn’t have the impact of the first two I did enjoy it.

Well that’s it for me for this year folks!  Stay safe and we’ll see you in 2015!

