891586This book has been a favorite of mine for years.  I read it back in grade school and I re read it so many times I had to replace my copy recently.  And since it’s been at least 10 years since I last read it, I decided to give it another go.

So this story is all about horses, and how one of the horse breeds, the Appaloosa, is in danger of dying out and the sire of the breed -a stallion turned god called the Dancer- tried to reestablish his line with one of the last pure blood mares, a buckskin named Duchess.

There are a lot of subtle things I didn’t catch before when I was younger, and I’m kinda glad I didn’t.  Like how basically the herd culture of the horses is essentially a patriarchal rape culture, where the mares have to mate with the nearest stallion whether they want to or not because that’s the stallion’s ‘right’.

There’s also a large morality undertone to the whole things.  The horses keep talking about the laws that govern them, the choices they can make, and the consequences of those choices are vividly displayed when our hero is captured by the bad guys and metaphorically killed.

It was a little awkward though when they try to associate human emotions such as love to the horses.  They juuuuuust missed the mark on it and it gave the whole thing a weird vibe.  I can’t even properly explain how or why, it’s just a feeling I got.

But for all that I still love this book.  I can see what is wrong with it now, what’s not quite right, but thankfully I still love it despite the flaws.

Next, third one for Ja No Read Mo, Serenity #3: The Shepherd’s Tale

8596384One of Serenity’s greatest mysteries is finally revealed in The Shepherd’s Tale, filling in the life of one of the show’s most beloved characters;Shepherd Book!

Who was Book before meeting Mal and the rest of the Serenity crew? How did he become one of their most trusted allies? And how did he find God in a bowl of soup? Answers to these and more questions about Book’s past are uncovered in this original graphic novel by rising stars Zack Whedon (Dr. Horrible, Terminator, Fringe) and Chris Samnee (Blackest Night: Tales of the Corps, Daredevil). A pivotal chapter in the ongoing Serenity saga, The Shepherd’s Tale is also a rollicking, action-packed epic in its own right!

Save

Save

