I first started reading the Shannara Series by Terry Brooks almost twenty years ago, so there won’t be a whole lot of links to reviews as they have not been written.  Maybe one day I’ll backtrack and write them, but for now I’ll just keep with what’s current.

Now there are two ‘timelines’ for this reading order: Publication timeline, and Chronological timeline according to the world’s setting.  I’m only posting the world timeline because as far as I’m concerned that’s the only on that really matters.  Once Terry Brooks started he kinda decided to jump back and write some prequels, and pre-prequels.  He also has another series called Landover which didn’t sit well with me personally, but I’ll be listing here as well in case you folks want to give it a go.


Chronological Timeline:

The Word and The Void:

  1. Running with the Demon
  2. Knight of the Word
  3. Angel Fire East

Genesis of Shannara:

  1. Armageddon’s Children
  2. Elves of Cintra
  3. Gypsy Morph

Legends of Shannara:

  1. Bearers of the Black staff
  2. Measure of Magic

Dark Legacy of Shannara:

  1. Wards of Faerie
  2. Bloodfire Quest
  3. Witch Wraith

Original Shannara series:

  1. First King of Shannara
  2. Sword of Shananra
  3. Elfstones of Shannara
  4. Wishsong of Shannara

Heritage Of Shannara:

  1. Scions of Shannara
  2. Druid of Shannara
  3. Elf Queen of Shannara
  4. Talismens of Shannara

Voyage of the Jerle Shannara:

  1. Ilse Witch
  2. Antrax
  3. Morgawr

High Druid of Shannara:

  1. Jarka Ruus
  2. Tanequil
  3. Straken

Dark Legacy of Shannara:

  1. Wards of Faerie
  2. Bloodfire Quest
  3. Witch Wraith

Magic Kingdom of Landover:

  1. Magic Kingdom for sale Sold!
  2. The Black Unicorn
  3. Wizard at Large
  4. Tangle Box
  5. Witch’s Brew
  6. Princess of Landover