285256So I was expecting this to be like Realms of the Deep and encompass stories about the battle portrayed in the trilogy this anthology was based on.  And while there are a few stories about that, for the most part it is short prequl sstories about the floating city of Shade during the height of Netherese power, as well as one touching story about that fateful day where Karsus wrested the Weave from Mystryl and destroyed his civilization in one fell swoop.

Wizards, Scorcerers, a tribe of kenku, shadow dragon, earth elementals, the facinating flating cities of Netheril and a lowly, wayward mercenery-turned-assassin are all here waiting for you in Realms of Shadow.

My favorite story though was one about a tribe of Uthgardt barbarians, on their way to help the battle in Evereska.  The Uthgardt are notoriously suspicious of magic in all it’s forms.  They distrust it and think it makes the world weak.  When they save the life of a mage and allow him to travel with them, he points out the minor and not-so-minor enchantments on some of their ancestral weapons and armor, and they proceed to throw them away along a vast, dusty plain.  This same plan which characters from Thunderbeast of the Fighters series come across many years later and marvel at the artifacts left behind and wonder what caused them to be there.  I thought that was pretty boss.

Back to Mercy!  What does Iron Kissed hold in store for us I wonder?

1412138I could smell her fear, and it satisfied something deep inside me that had been writhing under her cool, superior gaze. I curled my upper lip so she could get a good look at my sharp teeth. I might only weigh thirty or so pounds in my coyote shape, but I was a predator…

Mechanic Mercy Thompson can shift her shape – but not her loyalty. When her former boss and mentor is arrested for murder and left to rot behind bars by his own kind, it’s up to Mercy to clear his name, whether he wants her to or not.

Mercy’s loyalty is under pressure from other directions, too. Werewolves are not known for their patience, and if Mercy can’t decide between the two she cares for, Sam and Adam may make the choice for her…

Save

