7235533I was really looking forward to reading Way of Kings as I’ve been a Brandon Sanderson fan since reading Mistborn, but I was rather disappointed in this book.  And it’s not that I didn’t like the story, or the characters, or the world, or that it wasn’t as well written as his previous works.  It’s that I felt like I was missing something the whole way through.

It follows the lives of two very different people within this world: a soldier turned slave, and a aristocrat turned thief.  The king is weak, the country has been at war for decades, and there are whispers on the wind of a prophecy about to some true.  I loved the characters.  I loved following their stories, especially the soldier thief as he rails against the cast system and defies all odds to live.  The aristocrat begged and pleaded to be taken on as a pupil from the very woman she was going to steal from, only to tell her everything and abandon her family.  So I loved pretty much everything about this except the history and mythology of the world.

The world that the Way of Kings is set in is very unique but very complex as well. I found myself accepting aspects of the world and religion without fulling understanding them.  It made me feel like I had come into the story on book 2 rather than book 1.  And while I enjoyed Way of Kings for the most part, a chapter or two just on the history of the world would have gone a long way.  But as it is I won’t be continuing on with the series.

We’re checking out another of Brigg’s older works, another duology starting with Raven’s Shadow next

285207Seraph is a Raven mage who left behind her responsibilities for the love of the ex-soldier Tier. But when Tier disappears, Seraph must use her magic and fulfill her ancestors oath to protect humanity from destruction.

Save

