291535Last of the Harpers series for now as I’m still trying to locate 3 more books to complete it.

But for now, we follow the infamous Bard of Shadowdale, Chosen of Mystra, and of (if not THE) defacto leader of the Harpers Storm Silverhand.  She’s summoned to Cormyr after one of her Harpers dies under mysterious circumstances and names her in his will.

But Storm gets more than she bargained for.  Two dead Harpers, a family of haughty small time nobles trying to feel more important than they are, and a mad shapeshifter with murderous psycopathic tendencies who has taken the form if her dead consort and gains power by subsuming the minds of others.

Oh it’s just another day for one of Mystra’s Chosen…

There was too much buildup though, ironicaly enough.  I found myself skimming through a lot of the hunting/battle scenes because I just wanted to know what happened next, and those scenes seemed to go on forever.

One interesting thing I noticed too, and I think I may have brought this up in the past, but I wonder if Ed Greenwood is a bit of an exhibitionist. Storm is nekked in like every other scene here and not caring one whit about it.  Which is funny to see some of the reactions from those around her, but you think the woman would be able to hang one to some form of clothing for more than five minutes!

Anyways.  That’s it for the Harpers until I get those last three books.  Next we have the seventh book of Ja No Read Mo, Something from the Nightside by John Green.

155421John Taylor is not a private detective per se, but he has a knack for finding lost things. That’s why he’s been hired to descend into the Nightside, an otherworldly realm in the center of London where fantasy and reality share renting space and the sun never shines

Save

