25982608So I’m pretty much a lost cause.  When I heard that Dungeons and Dragons was going to set their next edition within the Forgotten Realms, I was lost.  Since then I have purchased every core book and adventure to date, but I’m sure I’m missing many of the smaller adventures.

Anyways, Sword Coast Adventurer’s Guide is the next on my chopping block here, and I have very mixed feelings about it.

On the one hand I love it.  It give you more of an in depth look at the Sword Coast where most of the adventure such as Horde of the Dragon Queen etc take place, as well as many of the novels.  Lore, history, culture, geography, it’s all there.  Would have been better if there was a bigger map. Like they do have a map, but it’s one little page.  I would have loved it if there was like a pull out map in the back or something of the Sword Coast.  Something you can frame kinda thing.

Now on the other hand, I think half of this is useless.  It touts the fact that is has new backgrounds/class paths for player characters, but there’s not really a lot of new stuff there.  It outlines several adaptations, but when it comes to actually implementation you are continuously referred to the Player’s Handbook.  There are maybe 5 new subclasses overall and one or two backgrounds.

 Overall, I am glad I bought it for my collection.  I think there is much room for improvement, but if you’re looking for hints and tips when playing/planning and Dungeons and Dragons campaign within the Forgotten Realms, this is a good aide.

Speaking of aid, I wonder what kind of help Aoth and the Brotherhood will be getting after their near defeat in Spectral Blaze.  Well we’re about to find out with the 4th installment of the Brotherhood of the Griffon series by Richard Lee Byers: The Masked Witches is next.

11486939Aoth Fezim and his mercenary company have restored their tarnished reputation and attracted new recruits for their depleted ranks. But they still have one big problem. Too many griffon mounts were killed in the battles in Thay Chessenta. If “the Brotherhood of the Griffon” is to be more than a name, new mounts must be found.

As it happens, the masked witches in Rashemen have griffons available to a worthy few who can slay the undead that are committing atrocities throughout the land. Aoth volunteers his band, as do other groups who are in the market for the fighting beasts. But things are not as they seem. Epic battles between rival sellswords, berserkers, and aerial skyships punctuate this whirlwind tale set in a barbaric land of oracles, nature spirits, and talking animals.

