6481484I really liked Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots by Carrolly Erickson.  It was a surprisingly fast read for me, I was able to get through it in a day.

We follow the life if the infamous Queen Mary, cousin to Queen Elizabeth I, in a tale more fanciful than historical about the queen’s life married to the dauphine of France, her widowhood, how she returned to the home she loved but never really knew, and how she tried to keep the turbulous Scotsmen under control before finally fleeing to England and being held as a prisoner/guest until she was beheaded for false treason by her royal cousin.

It also seemed more of a love story than a story of her life. It focused more on her relationship, love, and secret marriage/children to a Scottish lord that she carried on from her time in France to the day she was beheaded. Very sweet in a way, but also very sad.

It was a little bit boring for me as it seemed like the same thing over and over again.  She’s safe, she’s not, she’s involved in a war of some kind, she flees, she thinks she’s safe, gets captured, escapes. Wash, rinse, repeat.

There was also no emotional attachment for me to the characters.  I enjoyed the book and was interested enough in it to continue on, but that’s about it.  I think this is because I have already read a few books on her and they were all from her point of view so maybe I’m overall getting bored with her story.  Ah well.  I’ll keep reading about her if it intrigues me, but I think next time I’ll aim for a 3rd party narration.  See if that helps.

Moving right along!  Books 6 for Ja No Read Mo 2017: The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern.

6631792Tamara Goodwin has always lived in the here and now, never giving a second thought to tomorrow. Until a traveling library arrives in her tiny village, bringing with it a mysterious, large leather-bound book locked with a gold clasp and padlock.

What she discovers within the pages takes her breath away and shakes her world to its core.

