17910148The Wiley O’Reilly is the ninth book in the Irish Country series, and it’s something I did not expect in the beginning.

Apparently Patrick Taylor began this series as short stories in the local paper and has collected those original short stories here, 9 books later.

Honestly, when I realized what it was, I was concerned I would not like it, as short story collections tend to go either way with me.  I either love it or I hate it.  But damn if this book isn’t funny as all hell.

Not to say that there weren’t a few issues.  I found a lot of the stories to be very wordy.  Almost needlessly so.  Some of them were very funny I wound up laughing out loud, but I am a beleiver in efficient writing.  Use as many words as you need to in order to convey what you want when you write, but don’t go overboard.  Don’t use twenty words when ten would do kinds of thing. And since a lot of the stories were really blown up language wise, it made reading them a bit difficult.

But the end game here is that I loved this book despite all that.  Especially the end story about O’Reilly coming home from the war.

And moving right along, I’m so close to my 2017 Ja No Read Mo goal of 13 books I can almost taste it!  Book 12 is next, Tyrant by Christian Cameron.

2769328Glory. Death. Well-born Athenian cavalry officer, Kineas, fought shoulder to shoulder with Alexander in his epic battles against the Persian hordes. But on his return from the east to his native city, he finds not glory but shame – and exile.

With nothing to his name but his military skills, Kineas agrees to lead a band of veterans to the city of Olbia, where the Tyrant is offering good money to train the city’s elite cavalry. But soon Kineas and his men find they have stumbled into a deadly maze of intrigue and conspiracy as the Tyrant plots to use them as pawns in the increasingly complex power games between his own citizens, and the dread military might of Macedon.

Caught between his duty to the Tyrant, his loyalty to his men and a forbidden love affair with a charismatic Scythian noblewoman, Kineas must call on all his Athenian guile, his flair on the battlefield, and even – he is convinced – the intervention of the gods, to survive.

