6314618Well it was tight, but I did it, and I am super happy that I was able to get through 14 books this Ja No Read Mo.  Last time I read 14 books was in 2014 I think?  And then I think I only made it cuz I read some graphic novels in there, which still count!  But this…kinda counts more?

Anywhoodle…

The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown is yet another example of how books are more often than not, better than the movie.  I watched the DaVinci code movie shortly after it was released to DVD, and I enjoyed it so I was like ‘hmm. Lets try Dan Brown books.’

I started DaVinci Code shortly after, but found myself distracted by remembering the scenes from the movie, which was rather odd for me and I couldn’t finish it the first time round.  So I set it aside and moved on to Angels and Demons which I really liked, but it’s taken me almost 10 years to come back round to it, and I’m glad I did.

I found myself still remembering the movie, but more in comparison to the book.  How did it differ?  What was missing?  So I was able to continue on reading it.

I believe it has a well earned reputation as a classic, or at least it should if it doesn’t already.  And it did interest me enough that I am considering moving on to the rest of Dan Brown/Robert Langdon books such as The Lost Symbol and Inferno, but DaVinci Code didn’t really grab at me kinda like I was expecting it to.  Maybe because I already knew the story?  Or maybe because I had such trepidations going into it that my entire outlook was skewed?

I don’t think I’ll ever know, but I do know that I enjoyed it and do not regret finally reading the DaVinci Code after almost a decade of trying.

And that’s all for Ja No Read Mo folks!  Stay tuned for my Final Update and we’ll see ya here again for Ja No Read Mo 2018!

